New golfer help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New golfer help

I am just starting out and would like a decent set of clubs. I am looking at these two sets and cannot decide between them.

http://www.callawaygolf.com/global/e...-mens-set.html

http://www.touredge.com/products/mensreaction2.asp

Any advice or other club set considerations would be appreciated! :salute:

Tesseract, either one looks fine for someone just starting out. You could also look at used clubs on ebay, craigslist, Calloway pre-owned or Taylor Made pre-owned. I recommend regular (as opposed to stiff) steel shafts on your irons and graphite on your woods. I would get something pretty inexpensive at first to see if golf is something you really like.

If the bug hits you hard, and you start getting somewhat proficient, I would then look at something a bit better in a couple years. If you develop a good game and have good distance, you can also change to stiff shafts in the future.

Comment

I just started golfing last summer. Here is an awesome place to check out for advice.

http://www.thehackersparadise.com/forum/forum.php

Comment

Look into Wilson c or d irons. They are great clubs, and you can pick them up for cheap in the States. They are huge in Europe, and don't get much credit in the States. I've played the c6 and c7 series irons for the past 8 years. D series have a bigger sole and more offset for the beginner.

Comment

Dennis,

The best thing you can do for yourself is to get to a golf store or pro shop and actually have them fit you for a set of clubs. It's painless, effective and will absolutely prevent problems.

The game is hard enough without also adding the wrong tools to the mix.
          Ray

Comment

I know nothing about golf, but just wanted to pass along a deal that popped up in my daily perusing on slickdeals and dealnews. Here's the dealnews title;