Margarita Recipe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Margarita Recipe

The weekend's coming up....just wondering what people's favorite margarita recipe is? What type of tequila? Grand Marnier, Cointreau, or plain old triple sec? Fresh limes or Rose's? Blended or over rocks?

Being a college student, I typically find Jose Cuervo Especial and some type of premade mix, but lately I've been into making my own. I've noticed that even using Jose Cuervo, plain triple sec, and Rose's makes a huge difference from the storebought stuff.

Has anyone ever tried the Kirkland Signature Anejo Tequila? The KS Vodka is superb and comparable to Grey Goose, so I thought I would give their Tequila a try. It definitely goes down smoother than Jose Cuervo, but I haven't been able to compare it to a bottle of Patron.

If I want a good margarita, should I invest in better tequila, better citrus liquor, or real limes?

Looking forward to the weekend!
    :happy hour:

LOL well as I was typing away my long winded response and did a quick google search on a simple syrup recipe (I mean the way we made it at the King Cole, it would yield six liter bottles full of the stuff :eek:).... anyway, I ran across this article and if you would have read my response and then this article.... you may have thought I plagerized the thing. This is exactly how I feel about Margaritas and their ingredients.

http://www.artofdrink.com/2009/06/th...ita-recipe.php

Keep it fresh, good quality, and above all.... simple. Too much fluff and it ruins the drink IMHO. Save the Grand Marnier for the warmed snifter or as a floater on your Margarita if you must. But I've found as I've gotten older, that I like things that taste good and are balanced. Sometimes an all out assult on the palate is less enjoyable than it used to be.