Quad Core PCs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quad Core PCs

I was thinking of getting a quad core PC but I have not kept up with this stuff (odd since I work in IT but not tons with PCs anymore). So I was looking for recommendations. I only need the MB/CPU/Video Card/Memory. I want to keep the costs down as much as possible.

The last thing I bought is the MSI Atom setup - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856167032. This was to run Freenas on but as of right now I am running windows 7 on it.

Which vendor - Intel or AMD?

If Intel, which generation - the Core 2 or the newer Core i7? Also understand that the release of the Core i5 is imminent.

You can build a Core 2 system cheaper - mostly due to the very low prices of the DDR2 memory they use. As these systems get phased out, though, you wouldn't be able to reuse that memory in a newer system as they require DDR3.

Why quad-core anyway? What is it you intend to run on this? Video and photo work do benefit from the quad but not a whole lot else has been done to really exploit it. Don't get me wrong, I run a quad and have *nothing* that exploits it right now as I'm still running Windows but once I build my next box I will re-image the old one with VMWare and Linux.

When building any computer system the really key thing to have answered up front is "what will this be used for?".

Comment

I agree. I run a quad core, but I really don't need it. A faster duo core for less money would probably work better for you. Or an extreme duo if you are a gamer.

But it depends on what you will be using it for.
      I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. - Thomas Edison

Comment

I have a Q6600 @ 3.0gHz. I love it for compression jobs and other very CPU intensive things! But, most people would be better served with a faster dual core than a quad.
        With a shovel...

Comment