Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speaker Cables? Help !

Hello guys.

I'm new to the Home Theater / AVR / Audiophile world and will hopefully be picking up a 3.0 set of A2.4s on restock.

What gauge speaker cables should I be looking at? Should I be looking for premium cables or go with DIY Amazon basics + Banana plugs. Someone suggested BlueJeanCables 4S11's to me on a Reddit thread. To get a full set for 3 speakers it's gonna run me about 120-150$. The Amazon basics would be much cheaper.

I read online that people say premium cables make a difference. I also read that people say they don't and are a gimmick. I watched a few videos on cables and could hear the difference between brands on vocals. It was very slight but still noticeable even through the cheapo computer speakers I have. Should I DIY or go premium?

Any advice is welcomed and thanks in advance!

Last edited by ItzMeZelio; 09-22-2020, 06:10 PM.

IMZ - thanks for posting this question. I'm in the same boat as you so I'll be following the responses on this thread.

Comment

I'm of the opinion that use a good 12-14 gauge wire and call it a day. If your runs are extraordinarily long than maybe you'd want to use the Canare. I'd still try to save some $$$ and just wire it myself though. Banana Plugs are easy to terminate.
      If you wanted to spend money on premium cables I wouldn't personally go any "higher" than BlueJeans cables - their product really is top notch. This is only if you have disposable cash and you feel the investment is worth it for that "very slight but still noticeable" difference.

Comment

Originally posted by Chris Ward View Post
        I'm of the opinion that use a good 12-14 gauge wire and call it a day. If your runs are extraordinarily long than maybe you'd want to use the Canare. I'd still try to save some $$$ and just wire it myself though. Banana Plugs are easy to terminate.