A3rx-c vs A5rx-c

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A3rx-c vs A5rx-c

Im interested in getting two A3rx-c's or two A5rx-c's but I am new to home theater and I cant make up my mind. Ive tried researching as much as I can but its not helping me decide. What are the differences between them? Id say its about 60/40 movies/music. I already purchased an A2rx-c for my center channel and two Powersound V1500 subs. Which of the two tower speakers would mix better with those? Im leaning towards the A3's because there cheaper but money isnt a big deal if the A5's would be better. My room is 8ft tall by 12ft wide by 25ft long. Also would getting towers for my surrounds be better than the A1's? im going to be running 5.2 first and if i feel like i need to upgrade to 7.2 later on i will. I have a Denon 4520CI coming via ups on Thursday which will power my center and left and right mains. Im going to want amps for my surrounds when i get those so any suggestions on which amps would be good for this setup would be highly appreciated. Thank you and i look forward to reading anyones opinions.

I'm in the same boat as you. I called Jon and asked him this very question a few minutes ago. He said the A3 are a bit more musical and are equally great for home theater depending on your needs. The A5 is a bit easier to drive and will play louder with a fuller sound. The A5 would likely be better for home theater and the A3 for music unless you listen at moderate levels the A3 should suffice for double duty. My plan is to buy the A3s first. If they don't have a full enough sound for movies I will move them to my office and buy the A5 provided I like them :) Haven't heard either yet. Another factor for me is listening distance. We will likely be at a 10-11ft from speakers to ears and I don't listen at insane levels so I'm hoping the A3 will be fine. I'm debating on selling my Focal 726V and matching center channel and replacing with the Chane line. Big decisions. Good luck.